Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Light

Managed to get my scope out for the first time and thought I would share my experiences with you. I'm a complete newbie although I did have a Tasco 60mm refractor 30 years ago on an alt-az mount which could see absolutely nothing and gave up almost as soon as I had begun.

During the day had set everything up and aligned the finder only to find the whole thing moving almost immediately. The thread for the tightening bolt was threaded (Bought this second hand off fleabay and to be honest dont think it had ever been outside). My dad is bringing a tap and die set over but a small strip of cloth inside the thread allowed it to hold in the meantime.

Being in the North of Scotland we are dark by about 7pm. Put the equipment out at twenty to seven, a Skymax Pro 150 on an eq3-2, to cool down. Weather conditions were far from ideal, a bank of cloud East to West and South and some wispy cloud to the North with a full moon starting to rise.

Patience is a virtue and I have none so instead of letting everything cool down properly wanted to get started asap. First off tried polar aligning using the polarscope. This is where my first issue came. I could not see anything through the scope, any suggestions welcome there. As the clouds were only allowing views to the North I thought I would test the optics. I chose Merak and manually positioned the scope with the finder to see nothing in the scope. After a bit of searching got it centred in the FOV and then realigned the finder. Finding stars after that was much simpler.

I moved the scope around getting used to the logistics of pointing it where I wanted, not as straight forward as an alt az!