Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginner Unguided Setup (DSLR)

quantumpanda

Hello all,

I am looking to start imaging, with a particular interest in deep sky shots. As I am a beginner in generally astronomy anyway, I need your advice in a few areas.

Firstly, I won't be able to do very long exposures as I will not have a guided setup. In terms of the scope, I intend to buy either the Skywatcher Explorer 130P or the 150P. I am told that if I buy the 150P, I will need to invest in the EQ5 mount as opposed to the EQ3 mount that is generally supplied with it, for imaging stability. What difference will I get between the 130 and 150?

Finally, what DSLR should I be looking at? I've heard alot about the Canon 1000D, which from what I've seen online, is about the maximum I want to spend on a camera at the moment. Is this a good choice?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Mount, mount mount and did I mention ...mount!! That's what imaging is all about. You can use a pretty basic scope and the 1000D is an exellent camera but you must have a good mount (there I said it again!!)

Seriously though - get a book like "Making Every Photon Count" from FLO (usual disclaimer) and read and re-read it - it will save you a vast amount of time and money by explaining exactly what you need and what NOT to buy to get you imaging. Most folk on this forum(and others!) recommend it.

Just in case there's any doubt deep sky work is all about the mount. :o

One other thing to consider is that a lot of DSOs are actually quite big. So if you glue your camera onto a scope with too long a focal length you will only get parts of your targets.