Celestron Nextar 130 SLT

Hi everyone,

I wonder if you can help me. Today, I received my first ever telescope (I've never even looked through one before), and I THINK I've set it up correctly, though thankfully, it didn't need too much setting up.

Unfortunately, I am struggling to see anything at all. I know I'm probably forgetting to do something obvious, but as a newbie, I really don't know what it is. At the moment, all I can see through the eyepiece is the mirror below it. To be honest, I don't know how telescopes work, so I can't identify any missing pieces, and the manual does not have a problem solving section.

Would anybody be able to give me some advice? I feel like a bit of a dolt, to be honest. I even spent ages trying to work out which way the finderscope should face!! (I've decided I don't like it as I had to be at an odd angle to see through it, and even then all I could see was the reflection of the plastic).

Sorry if I sound like a dumbo, but I really am lost, and given how much these things cost, I am not going to give up.

Thank you

Wendy

Hi Wendy,

Welcome to the Stargazers Lounge !.

If you can actually see the mirror below the eyepiece then I'm wondering if you actually have an eyepiece in the focuser tube at all :)

Sorry if thats too obvious but that's all I can think of !.

The eyepieces have different focal lengths marked on them, eg: 20mm, 25mm, 10mm or similar. Use the one with the longest focal length (ie: the highest number) to get used to the scope. The eyepiece fits into the focuser tube - the tube that moves in and out when you turn the small wheels.

Hope that helps a bit and you are not too insulted if I'm making the wrong assumptions ;)

Hi there, thanks for your response. My husband had a little play about with it. He said he didn't do anything, but all of a sudden I had a VERY clear view of the moon.