Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Basic settings to be worked out now.

davy999

Hi

My kit is listed below, nexstar - titan etc.. I had my first night of imaging last night and got some images of M15 and of other various random areas of space so thought I would just ramble on a little about how I got on as a complete novice.

The first diffuculty I have is that trying to get the object close enough to the centre to be able to see it when the camera is inserted, I notice that on fitting the camera its easy to cause the object to move away from the image but I am sure in time with some practice and a steadier hand this can be improved somewhat.

Trying to focus I see is quite difficult, even with my temporary fix for dual focus (carboard disk pushed over the current focusing know) but I did find that as time went on this got better, but I had the pc about 8 feet away from the scope and I would move focus go to lappy move focus check lappy.. certainly I need the lappy close enough to clearly see the focusing adjustments straight away rather than adjust move adjust move, schoolboy error I know but oh well, it was my first night with cam!.

I was using artemis capture and I did find it a very good bit of software to use, I dont know if it's a package for the more accomplished AP but for an absolute beginner like me it was fairly easy to use. Mind you saying that I did have the "save automatically" option checked and was looping the images, oh dear.. took me ages to realise that this was saving the live feed that I thought was just a preview. Oh well, I have about 1000 images of various bits of space some sort of in focus, some definelty not, some black, some almost white but generally at least i know now what not to do.