Dobsonian Question

Hello

An introduction and question

I am new to astronomy. I do not intend to get a telescope yet, I already have some very good Opticron Binoculars and spotting scope and will use those before I purchase a telescope. I have bought 'Turn left at Orion' and I am begining to learn my way around the stars but, being attracted to new kit I've already done some research on what scope I will buy for my own use preferences, which, I hope will be a 8" Dobsonian.

The question is is there any difference in the current Dobsonian offereings? Skywatcher Skyliner 200P and the Orion Skyquest XT8 Classic ?

Thanks for any Advice.

Hello and welcome. The Skywatcher and Orion US range of telescopes are made by the same manufacturer Synta. Optically the two telescopes should be the same. The main difference is that the Skywatcher range is stocked by more outlets than the Orion brand and tend to be a little cheaper aswell.

Peter

They are both owned by Synta so it's basically the same thing.

I have the XT8i (version with the PushTo controller) and it's great. Skywatcher probably haves the best price in UK.

Paulo,

I think the word PushTO controller should make it fairly obvious to me, but any chance you can explain what it does and how it works for you and the Dob please, any photos of it? if possible.

Cheers

Phil

The scope haves 2 sensors on the base. You plug the controler, powered with a 9v battery, then you do a simple 2 star allignment and it works as a goto.

You just say what you want to see and it tell you where to point. You point manually as it doesn't have motors.

For a full goto version they have the xt8g (mine is xt8i), but then you also need a powerpack.

You can leave it off when you want to star hop instead of being lazy :D.

You can see the pics here:

Orion SkyQuest XT8i Computerized IntelliScope | Orion Telescopes