Diagonal Woes

Hi

I'm really new to this so Apologies if this is an epecially dense question...I'm using a Skywatcher 6" newtonian on an EQ5 mount. To save on neck-craning I bought a cheap diagonal. Last night I popped it into the end of the focuser, then placed the plossl in the other end. All I could see was an "over exposed" image - including the spider. The scope is collimated as far as I can make out, same thing happended with my other eyepiece, and without the diagonal all is fine. The only thing that comes more-or-less into focus using the diagonal is the tree at the bottom of the garden...I assume I'm missing something really obvious? Any help very much appreciated!!

Diagonals add about 50mm to the "back focus" - from the sound of it you don't have enough space to fit a diagonal between the focuser and the eyepiece. This is not unusual for a newtonian :)

Can you rotate the telescope tube in the mounting rings to bring the eyepiece to a better location....

Ken

Billy

Unfortunately what you're doing probably won't be possible. The design of a Newtonian prevents there being a lot of 'inward' focusing which is what you'd need with a diagonal fitted. You might be able to focus on near distance but not those things at infinity. There might be the possibility of fitting a low profile focuser but even then I'm sceptical. The only alternative I can suggest would be a regular neck massage. :)

Steve

Hi

I assume I'm missing something

Yup. You don't use a diagonal with a Newtonian reflector.

• First, you don't need one. Diagonals are designed so that the eyepiece points upward at the bottom end of refractors or SCTs, for more comfortable viewing. On a Newtonian, the eyepiece already points upward. (If it doesn't, rotate the tube in the tube rings).