What do i need to take pictures with my skywatcher 130

I have the skywatcher 130 with the motor and an olympus e400 dslr

what exactly would i need to connect the two and what kind of pictures would i expect to get?

im pretty new to this so its just to get me started until i buy better equipment.

i have read a few posts where people say they cant focus properly because of either the scope or camera not being good enough, would i have this problem?

thanks

There are issues with inwards focus travel with this telescope so I would urge you to search the SGL archive for posts on this subject. You will need an Olympus 'T' adapter and a 1.25" nosepiece adapter (Astro Engineering AC457) to connect to this telescope BUT you will need to resolve the focus issue.

I have successfully imaged both Moon and Planets with my 130PM, I used a Philips SPC900NC camera, combined with a 2x Barlow, and a 3x Barlow. I would say that initially focussing and getting the correct exposure setting was a challenge, but once you have that sussed it gets a lot easier.

I have also recently purchased a Meade DSI, which allows me to go for the feint stuff, of which i have only managed a few successful nights imaging. Capturing a globular cluster and the orion nebula all of which i am very happy with. The mount that comes with the 130 doesn't really allow for long exposure imaging, but it will handle around 8-15 second exposures.

If i were you i would have a crack at doing planets, they're big, bright and easy to find, don't expect amazing results initially, but you will be surprised and no doubt buzzing once you have captured your first image.

I have not tried a DSLR with the scope yet as i don't have one, but as steppenwolf says the inward travel may be a problem when focussing.

So far I've only spent around £200 on imaging kit, thats both cameras and some filters to help out.

If you need any help just ask...

Matt