NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Upgrade advice needed

i was thinking of upgrading my skywatcher evostar 120.

im pretty new to stargazing and dont really know what to go for.

i will spend around £400 on something that will be able to fit on my eq5 mount.

ive been looking at the skymax pro 150 mak but keep wondering if this would really be a significant upgrade and im also worried about image shift (whatever that is) that i keep reading about.

does anyone have any advice or views on this scope or other's for around the same price ?

any help would be much appreciated.

also i will have to sell the evostar (minus tripod and mount) to help fund whatever new scope i decide to get but have no idea of how much i should let it go for.

like i said im pretty new and the scope is only a couple of months old and is in exellent condition.

cheers

Tez

To get a big gain in what you see I would jump up to at least a skywatcher 200p this would sit well on your EQ5. It's a completely different scope being a newtonian but it's light grasp will enable lots more dso's into your field of view.

The EQ5 will not hold a 10" scope steadily I feel. I think Doc (Mick) was referring to looking out for an 8" optical tube assembly - OTA (ie: the scope tube without the mount) and getting that to go on the mount. They come up for sale 2nd hand quite regularly for a lot less than £400. You might even find someone who would like to trade with your Evostar 120 if you place a "for trade" ad on SGL and / or UK Astro Buy & Sell.

Another option would be an 8" schmidt-cassegrain which would sit on your EQ5 well for visual use - they come up within your budget as well.

Also look out for the UK made Orion Optics newtonian OTA's - they are quite a bit lighter than their Skywatcher counterparts.

269 thats pretty good !!

yeah i figured it would be cheaper without the mount but i want to spend 400 on just the scope and get the most bang for my buck.