Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to stargazing

Hi

I am brand new to stargazing although have been very interested in it for years. My wife bought me my first telescope for Christmas and have been able to observe the moon but struggling with much else. I could do with some sort of discussion forum where I could discuss what (if anything) I am doing wrong please. Many thanks. Steve:o

Hi welcome

I also had a scope for xmas, there are alot of good people on here willing to give you good info like i had :)

I also could only see the moon untill i started exploring thanks to a program that was recomended to me called Stallarium.

Download it and put your location in to see what is in the sky above you in real time, it will be a good guide :)

Thanks for that Irvine. I really took the plunge last night dues to all the snow etc but really struggled both focusing and pinpointing anything and I thought I would start with something easy in looking at Mars. I can find it easy enough using the 20mm eyepiece, but lose a lot of clarity if I use the 3x barlow and the 4mm is very fuzzy. If i try and zoom, or get the focus wrong, the image gets split into 3 as the light coming into the scope hits the bracket that I think holds the secondary mirror. (can be seen if I look into the front of the telescope) (Newtonian reflector style) I take it that this is a bracket to hold the secondary mirror and must not be removed as it would have said so in the instructions. Forgive the real naivity....suppose I've an awful lot to learn!

:) Hi from me too

The max magnification with that scope would be around x150 but scopes seldom are able to go to their theoritical maximum. With a 4mm in you scope will be running at x175 magnifictaion so above what the scopes optics can cope with. Thats probably why things are going fuzzy.