Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

need help buying a telescope

Hi im new to this and need some help picking a telescope for beginners, i've seen the skywatcher 127 syn scan az goto and was wondering if this is a good telescope, will i be able to see galaxies and nebulae with this scope also can anyone recommend a good online resaler, i have heard bad things about telescope planet. Thanks you for your time :D

Hi David B

The synscan 127 is about £350 as far as I can see (First Light Optics - they sponsor this site - I have no connection with them apart from being a satisfied customer). For deep sky objects - galaxies and nebulae APARTURE is king! ie you need to collect the most light possible - these objects are faint!! So have you considered either a 200mm or 250mm Dobsonian? - these fall either side of your price (go for the 250 -you won't regret it!).

They dont have the goto but this is no real disadvantage - as a beginner most of the fun is learning your way around and gaining from the excitement of finding some of these elusive "faint fuzzies". Dobs are portable - which may be important - even if only to bring it indoors after use!

You can (if you get the bug you will!) always upgrade to an equatorial/goto type mount at a later date.

Hope this helps.

PS There are lots of posts like yours from beginners - and very welcome they are!! - have a look in the beginners section of the forum - there is so much advice that you will soon be really confused!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Keep asking - thats what we are all here for.

David,

In the ideal world one would see a few scopes in action before purchasing one. Local astronomy clubs often have public star gazing nights for just this reason. One public night is worth far more than all the reading you can do both online and in books.