SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M42 - managed an image!

Shibby

This is technically my second attempt at a DSO (see here) but since then my breakthrough is that I can use a barlow to move the focus out from the tube and achieve focus without an eyepiece (and the awful coma that comes with it!).

So I'm very chuffed to have achieved this image, I'm delighted with it! :D I stayed out til 3am last night, trying to make the most of the brief clear skies that might not re-occur any time soon!

output2-tweak3-small.jpg

There is still a fair bit of noise. DeepSkyStacker only stacked 3 of my 18 subs - because most of them had star trails (I only have an Alt-Az mount and the FOV is small with the barlow, about 0.6deg I estimate). Is it just random luck that 3 subs tracked perfectly?? I also used 18 darks, no flats or offset. I used nikon Capture NX to do attempt post-processing on the levels, though I'm very new to all this.

I don't think the focus is right either, I didn't have much time to fiddle with it before clouds threatened.

Hiya Shibby, that's a great start, much better than my 1st and 2nd attempts. This is not the easiest of targets as the stars soon become over exposed before the nebulosity becomes apparent. Can you provide the sub details? There is some light pollution evident but once you get the hang of processing this can be sorted out. Try focusing on a nearby bright star, a Bhatinov mask makes this a lot easier to achieve, then slew to your target. Once I have good focus I put a mark on the telescopes draw tube for future reference, and then it may just need tweaking.

It's a very long learning curve, but all the help you will require is right here on the forum....

Carl

That's a very nice start Shibby.