Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with my telescope.

Hello, I've just joined after lurking for a while! Hello everyone.

I've recently purchased an Orion Observer 60 refractor that comes with two basic eyepieces. I'm quite happy with it but I want a little bit more magnification. I'm quite new to this and don't really know where to look. I'm looking for a relatively cheap barlow lens that will fit my Orion.

I shall be sticking around!

Here's a nice snap of the moon I took this very night with it!

moon2.th.png

Hey, thanks for the link. That seems like a really resonable price. I'd like to know a few things as I haven't a clue. Firstly, which should I consider? the x3 or the x2? Also, will the image remain clear but just magnified?

thanks!

Found it on orion's web site. It's 700mm.

So your current eps give you:

10mm: 700/10 = 70x

25mm: 700/25 = 28x

With a 2x barlow you'll get 140x and 56x and the 3x will give you 210x and 84x.

In the site it says the maximum usable mag for your scope is 120x so buy the 2x barlow cause the 3x will be pushing the limit too much.

As the scope is 60mm dia and 700mm focal length I would say that you are getting very close to the limit of magnification that the scope will handle.

A 2x barlow and 140x will I strongly suspect give a very poor view of anything.

I know that they quote max magnification 2xObjective dia (in mm) but not long ago they said max was 1.5xObjective, and optically it is reckoned that the optimum is the same as the Objective, 60 for yours.

A 2x barlow will take you above even the most optimistic max for you scope and the addition of extra glass in the form of the barlow will add to deterioration of the image.

Capricorn is right, but it's your 1st scope so if you really want more mag to look at planets and the moon go ahead.