Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Orion Optics 8" F/6 Europa+EQ5

zanes

A recent thread on OO made me remember I haven't done a little review/walkaround of my scope. So, here are my impressions. Please remember that this is my first "real" scope, and please also remember that people would accuse me of being biased if I was a professional optics-guy-chap-thingy. There are enough threads on OO, so I don't think this needs to turn into a discussion on the finer points of the company.

Anyway, enough prattle and here we go;

Firstly, I think it's worth taking a few moments to think about what an 8" reflector is really for, and where the Europa sits in Orion's range. IMHO a 6/8" reflector at around F/6 is an "all round" scope. We expect it to be able to do most things we ask of it, at a fair price which we then trade off against portability. Make no mistake, this scope is big.

The Europa as far as I can see is Orion's "bread and butter" model. It seems it's been in production for at least 12 years (yes, 1997 was that long ago ) according to usenet and as you might expect it's gone through seemingly many changes- tripods, mounts, spiders etc but it essentially is unchanged- a basic, british made reflector on a far eastern made mount at a reasonable (entry level for Orion) price point.

That all said, I couldn't resit a couple of options from the standard list- The dual speed (10:1) crayford and the upgrade to 1/8PV optics. I believe that Orion will customise orders to spec (I know mine was built to order), but as this was my first scope I left the basics pretty much unchanged.