SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help needed about deep sky images

I've tried to take some deep sky image pictures but not sure what I am seeing.

When I am looking through my telescope (celestron 5SE) for deep sky images, will I see through the eyepieces the same as what the camera is going to see?

What size eyepiece should I be using for deep sky images?

This is my first year doing all this and I'm loving it.

your help would be great appreciated :D. I have spent tons of hours trying.

Thanks

hi

the way people usually do it, is using a dslr in prime focus, without a eyepiece, or with a ccd camera in primefocus.

it will not show things at the same size as you see it in your eyepiece.

a dslr is good for deepspace, but not as good at solarsystem objects, for that you will need something like the celestron neximage, as a starter option.

i guess you are using the camera listed in your equipment. i dont know anything about that camera.

a very popular camera for astrophoto, is the canon 1000d and 450d.

if you get one of those cameras, you will only need a adapter from the camera to your scope, and away you go!

alfi

Prime focus isn't the only way to go, you can also take pictures through the eyepiece. this is known as the afocal method and it's a good way of starting out without breaking the bank. I did this when I first started off, here's a few of them: Stargazers Lounge - Whippy's Album: Afocal shots . A camera adapter such as this would be ideal: Adaptors - Baader Microstage Clickstop digital camera adapter.

I see you're using a Celestron 5SE which in fairness aren't the best scopes for taking pictures as they are a 'slow' scope (the higher the focal ratio, the slower the scope). Saying that, even with that scope you should be able to take pics of the Moon and the brighter planets.

hi

the most used, and popular dslr cameras is the canon 1000d and 450d, both of them are capable of really great images.