Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bit of help with imaging

I need a bit of help with imaging,setup= EQ6 PRO , ED80 ,and a Canon 450D unmodified guided with PHD

I am a complete novice at this and i was trying to image M31 but not with much luck,30 second exp x15 , ISO 1600 ,is this one of the targets where you need to use a filter of some kind because i was just getting no detail , i do live in a light polluted area , it is basically the first target i have tried with the 450D and ED80 so i have nothing to compare it to

Any advice will be appreciated

Thanks Tez

I would go for longer exposure of around 5 mins if your guiding is working ok. You will need well over an hours worth of data to start to bring out detail. It would also help if you used a light pollution filter such as a Neodymium filter which will block out sodium street lamp light pollution.

Regards

Kevin

This is certainly not an 'easy' target despite its size - the problem is that the core is very bright and the outer arms pretty dim in comparison so getting the balance right is a challenge. Longer exposures would be required to collect the extra data to show the dust lanes but if your skies are heavily light polluted, the image could 'fog' in a relatively short length of time.

Kevin's suggestion regarding a LP filter would be a good start to allow you to try longer exposures.

I would go for longer exposure of around 5 Min's if your guiding is working ok. You will need well over an hours worth of data to start to bring out detail. It would also help if you used a light pollution filter such as a Neodymium filter which will block out sodium street lamp light pollution.

Regards

Kevin

When i take a photo of say 2 Min's or more (or maybe a bit less) the picture goes orange i think it must be the sky-glow or maybe the lights from the next door neighbor

Tez