NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

my first scope, accessory advice needed.

I think I'm going for the Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2 as my first scope: ( Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2 )

Knowing very little on the subject i need some advice. What if any accessories are recommened for this scope or for just general equipment for astronomy, with a budget of about £50? ie eyepieces, filters ect. I am a complete novice and this will be my first scope.

Also, do you think the skywatcher mentioned above is a ok beginners scope, with a budget of £250?

Thanks in advance, btw im itching to order this :)

Hi TWRAM :)

One of the most useful filters I own is my Moon filter. This is the one I have

The Moon is so bright when it is around full it can be quite painful to look at! Not to mention it swamping your eyes and ruining your dark adapted vision. This dulls the glare and so helps you to pick out some finer details. It is also useful, IMHO, for observing Jupiter. This planet is also very bright, the Moon filter reduces the glare slightly (without compromising the level of detail you can see) helping to show the banding better.

A 3x barlow is also a piece of kit I use almost every time I go out with the scope. Very useful for planetart observing and splitting doubles. :)

I don't think you will need worry about the quality of this telescope.

A six inch mirror is a perfect size for a first foray into observational astronomy. It has all you need, and as far as buying extras, well I would buy yourself a good book to help you learn the sky and how to locate objects. Once you have mastered the use of the equatorial mount, your enjoyment of locating and viewing galaxies and Nebulae will increase. I believe you get eyepieces with the scope, and a Barlow lens too.

The Barlow serves to double the power of each eyepiece you have.