Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice on organising a Meteor Party

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading a lot about the Summer Meteor Showers, and am thinking about hosting a Meteor Party. I am very new to this, and so far have only actually used my telescope twice! As such I'd be really grateful for any suggestions / advice more learned observers can provide!

My plan is to go to a dark site at around 2200 on the 12th August and observe the Perseids. The first stumbling block came at knowing where in the sky to look. I bought this month's Sky at Night, which confused me even more! They state the radiant is just above Perseus, which makes sense, but go on to say:

"If you look at the square of Pegasus, over towards the Summer Triangle, you'll get meteors streaking down the Milky Way from Cygnus to Aquila".

I've been observing Vega, Deneb and Altair so I feel confident following the instructions, but am conscious I'll be looking at the Summer Triangle and not Perseus. Would this be a big mistake?

Also, I'm planning on taking a waterproof base mat, sleeping bags, folding chairs and the usual assortment of tea/coffee etc. Is there anything else I should consider taking?

Many thanks in advance for any tips!

Cheers,

Adrian

Hi Adrian :)

Great news that you're looking to host a meteor party!

On this:

"If you look at the square of Pegasus, over towards the Summer Triangle, you'll get meteors streaking down the Milky Way from Cygnus to Aquila".