Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Jupiter 20th July

Neil M

I was observing Jupiter for only the second time during Sunday night / Monday morning and at approximately 12.50am I saw a very small black dot travelling across the planet's disc. It took only about a second or so and obviously took me by surprise. If memory serves it was travelling from the lower left to upper right as viewed in the eyepiece of my refractor.

I'm pretty sure, even as a complete novice, that this was nothing to do with the optics of my scope in any way, and assumed that as the 'dot' was in focus that it was a shadow being cast onto the planet.

Having now read about the recent impact on Jupiter I'm tentatively wondering if I saw something relating to this.

:) Hi Neil, i'm not sure how close to Jupiter an object would need to be in order to stay in focus while you're observing.. anyone have an idea?

My first instinct was to say that you may have seen a bird, because this has happened to me while lunar observing. Although the silhouette wasn't in focus, the shape was easily recognizable. But the Moon's a lot larger in the sky than Jupiter, so it's possible that if it was a bird it would have been seen as a very fast moving dot.

Or maybe (lucky you) it was the ISS/Shuttle? Again, i have no idea if they would even be visible when silhouetted against Jupiter, but imagers have captured the ISS flying in front of the Moon so i guess it's do-able.

Does anyone know if a 'live' astro program would show if the docked crafts would have passed near Jupiter? Wow, that's a feather i wouldn't mind having in my cap. :D

Hi Talitha - I've just had a quick look at Heavens Above and, if I'm using it correctly, timings don't match. I hadn't thought about the possibility that it may have been a bird, although it appeared to me to be circular albeit very small and with very uniform movement.