Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newby DSLR question

Starfleet

Can someone pls recomend to me a beginner's level Digital SLR camera for capturing faint stars on my telescope?

I dont want to go into very sofisticated photography (very technophobia I am!) I just need a camera to take snappy picture if I aim it into the eyepiece and capture what is showing in the exit pupil.

I really hope there is a simple and cheap DSLR available. Much appreciate it.

Thank you, yes i'm on a budget right now so maybe the 300D is the best one for me.

This guy I ask him which one of methods is best and he said, "afocal projection or prime focus astrophotography".

If i want to image using a 8-inch reflecting telescope with say 200x magnification on the barlow eyepiece, which is the best methodology in your experience? What does Afocal really mean? cheers again, I'm sorry I have no experience with astrophotography at all

Afocal is taking a picture through an eyepiece, prime focus is using the camera instead of an eyepiece. Afocal will give more magnifiaction since the EP will decide the image scale - prime focus will use the image scale determined by the scope specification multiplied by any barlow/reducer you put in front of the camera.

Arthur

After trying Afocal and Eye Piece Projection, I decided that Prime Focus gave the best and most consistent results for imaging with a DSLR. I think most imagers' on SGL with a DSLR use Prime Focus.

For this you remove the lens from the DSLR and connect it to the scope with a 'T' adaptor to suit your camera. The scope then becomes a large telephoto lens for the DSLR. You can use a Barlow with this system to increase the image scale. With a reflector scope you may have problems with getting enough back focus to use the DSLR at Prime Focus. This problem can be sorted by getting a lower profile focusser.

Canon DSLR's seem to be better supported for astro imaging than other makes. The Nikon is also a fine astro DSLR.

MD