Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Initial determination of RA for an object

Excuse me if this question is too elementary for this forum, or in the wrong forum - I'm a newbie here.

How do astronomers initially determine the RA of a star, for star catalogues and nautical almanacs for example? While I believe I understand RA, I don't know how it is figured to begin with. I was surprised that I can't find the specific answer to this anywhere using google.

Is it done with transit telescopes and measuring meridian crossing times? And if so, as a secondary question, how can astronomers catalogue so many millions of stars with their accurate RA and Dec? It would appear to be almost impossible to do this manually.

Edited by Andro

In principle, it's measuring an angle in the sky, eastwards from the zero point, which is defined as where the Sun crosses the celestial equator at the March equinox (This point is called the first point of Aries). One hour of RA = 15 degrees. There's a good Sky & Telescope article online https://skyandtelescope.org/astronomy-resources/right-ascension-declination-celestial-coordinates/

Originally, RA and declination were measured using transit telescopes. If you can measure the precise time a star (or other object) crosses the meridian (is due S or N of you), you can calculate  the time elapsed since the the first point of Aries crossed your meridian and that gives you its right ascension in hours, minutes and seconds. Declination is found by measuring the angle above the horizon at transit - overhead is equal to your latitude, so your horizon is 90degrees less than that etc.

In practice, as angular measurements could be made more precisely by telescopes, RA and Dec were measured as angular distances from reliably known objects.