Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Vignetting with 533?

As I understand it, being a reasonably small sensor the 533 is quite forgiving in terms of field illumination, star elongation in corners etc, so why is it that I'm getting vignetting, or at least what looks to be vignetting? 

I'm just getting started with imaging with a newt so there's plenty to learn, just wondering what I'm seeing here and why. Using the SW 250 Quattro, SW Aplanatic F4 corrector. I checked collimation, while it's not perfect it's not far off, a smidgen of secondary rotation required if anything, the rest done by collimated laser. Seems to be calibrated out with flats. The screenshot was taken at 2200 so around 1.5hrs until astro darkness. 

Please could you help me understand and remedy? 

Screenshot_20240507_213622_ASIAIR.thumb.jpg.b40149d648cb7362173ef40f52896081.jpg

M48 screwed connections ?

55mm from the Corrector to the sensor ?

SW say "28mm image height", which may mean the full vignetted circle.

Even so you'd think your 11mm x 11mm sensor would be in a good part of the circle.

Michael

I think you'll get vignetting regardless as the light at the edge has to travel further than the light in the centre, a spherical projection onto a flat image sensor also adds to this I think. Faster F ratio makes the light cone more steep from centre to edge also having an effect. If anything interacts with the edges, tubes, filters etc it can also contribute.

Unfortunately AP without flats isn't a thing yet unless you crop.

@michael8554 threaded connections from the corrector backwards. The corrector itself is secured by the standard SW focuser thumb screws. 55mm backfocus is where I've started, though I'm fairly happy with the stars at this point so won't fiddle just yet.