Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best way to take Flats

I have been using flats for several years but recently was wondering if maybe the flats I was taking might not be as good as they possibly could. My current method is to use a light panel with several sheets of white A4 on top to dim the light source. I then adjust both the gain and the exposure time so that I can achieve an exposure time in the region of 1.5 seconds and the histogram at or around 50%.

In order to see if I was doing anything wrong or if my results could be improved I had a look around the web and seemed to find some conflicting information. Some sites state that the camera gain should be the same as used to capture lights. The problem I have with this is that if I keep the gain the same I end up with very short exposure times if I am to keep the histogram at or around 50%. This then conflicts with other online advice that states that flats exposure time should be somewhere in the range of 1-3 seconds.

Given I have spent hours optimising and capturing data I don’t want potentially reduce the quality of my processed image through poor calibration. Therefore What do people consider to be the best way to capture flats?

Thanks,

Ian

Curious. I very rarely find that an exposure of less than several seconds is usable with a light panel. The time required depends on the filter used, of course. Perhaps your panel is intrinsically brighter than mine.

FWIW, I would suggest you continue with your current practice. Do you have any evidence that the flats you take are unsatisfactory? That is, do you see any residual gradients, vignetting, etc after applying your flats to your lights?  If not, leave well alone - i.e. if it aint broke, don't fix it.