Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Muktiple nights stacking in Sirilic - using stacked file?

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Astrophotography and I recently wanted to stack multiple nights of data in Sirilic. It went pretty well, but the stacking took almost 4 hours because of the amount of images. If I wanted to add another night of data, can I just take the file that came out when I stacked previously and use it as a light without any calibration frames or do I have to use all lights from the previous sessions again? Using just one file for the previous sessions would significantly reduce the time I have to wait for it to stack.

Thanks in advance!

I'm not quite sure what you're asking. Are you suggesting that you consider your first stack as one light which you then put into a set of new lights as if it were one new sub? If so, you can't do that.

To save time, you can make a new stack and then combine that with the existing stack, weighted according to exposure time. If your first stack had 2 hours and your second had 1 hour, you'd weight them 2 to 1.

Olly

You stack the stacks (as above with weighting which is something I'm yet to try myself). You load each stack as if it were a set of lights/darks/etc so if you've done say five imaging sessions you'll only have five files in the list, then go through the process of registering then stacking. It's quite quick this way as the long work has already been done. Each stack file needs to still be in a linear state before doing this (as it was stacked not histogram stretched, I think you may be able to perform background extraction on it and some other things prior but little else).