Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Should I buy this telescope?

I am new to astronomy and I want to make a good use of my money to buy a telescope under $185.

I live in India and I found this https://fotocart.in/product/startracker-80eq-refractor-f400mm-refractor-telescope/ telescope which is 10990INR or about $133. The brand is not popular like celestron,  meade,etc 

So I am confused whether to buy it or not, or get something better.

No one can tell you what to get, especially as you don't mention what interest you, the quality of the skies where you live, or if you can travel to a nice dark site.  Its basically an 80mm F5 refractor on a budget.  Like all things it will give you views of the Moon and bright nebula or galaxies under nice dark skies, but like all things in life you get what you pay for.  All cars will get you from A to B, but don't expect the smooth luxury a Rolls Royce offers compared to a no frills Ford, the same goes for telescopes.  

The problem is that unless someone has exactly the same scope none of us will be able to tell you how good or bad it is.  The problem is that you can always look at getting something better as you are always comparing whats available at any price point... even when you have a $1000 budget you can always get better mounts or optics...  

Personally, as per the post above I would stick with a brand that is known worldwide, and that means  Celestron if you are using that same supplier.  The 114 EQ is as basic as it comes but if you could stretch to the 130 that would be better....

• Like 1

The problem with these budget scopes isn't so much the objectives, which can be quite good, it's the rest of the system.  They may have plastic focusers, plastic body diagonals, internal aperture stops, and wobbly mounts.