Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Complete beginner, need some direction please. Skywatcher explorer 130 eq2

Hi all, just to let you know I am a complete beginner.  My Wife got me a telescope for a late Christmas present. I have the skywatcher explorer 130 eq2. I am (A) struggling how to balance it correctly. It seems balanced but I'm not sure I've done it right and can't find a YouTube video explaining the balancing.  (B) Struggling to find Polaris. Yes you heard it right! So, I go outside with the telescope point it north, but no idea where polaris is. I've got my planisphere out, and according to todays date and time, polaris is behind me...... when I'm facing north🤷‍♂️. I just need a bit of direction and maybe a pointer to some good beginner resources.  Hope you can help.

Thanks

Rich

16742558165578743147623554456048.jpg

• Like 1

39 minutes ago, fullmoon said:

Struggling to find Polaris.

Polaris always sits within a degree from the north celestial pole. For visual observing, that's good enough. Use the two right stars in The Big Dipper as guides. Polaris lies on a straight line trough these two stars.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Planispheres are a pain to operate in the dark and you would be much better to get an app for your phone like Stellarium. It will show you the exact position of Polaris which I can assure you never moves to the south. In fact it rotates around the north celestial pole in a minute movement of position too small for you to notice. Find Ursa Major commonly known as the plough or the big dipper and the two end stars with an imaginary line will point at Polaris. I am sure you will find it every time with Stellarium. Good luck.

D514957F-C176-47A3-853B-AC2A20B7B566.jpeg.1d90c59acd7cdf06a96808350d18e39f.jpeg

Edited by bosun21
Photo edit
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1