SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Can anyone identify this?

MarkTownsend

Hi all,

lovely to find this brilliant forum. I’m new to sky gazing - not in terms of interest but practise, having just bought a second hand 10” Dobsonian.

The guy who sold me it very kindly gave me a zoom eyepiece. Can anyone help me identify it please? Or give me any advice on what it might be in terms of its range of magnifications? Photo added. 

I have been looking at Jupiter but it is incredibly small, even at the highest magnification.

I would like to be able to see the larger planets clearly and some DSOs.

I am thinking of investing in a set of StarGuider eyepieces.

Thank you so much in anticipation.

Mark

3CFA1046-2E0A-4FF6-8E82-D384CB5DF14F.jpeg

62167BA8-5145-4AED-8046-C1288BE229F2.jpeg

7C16D0EF-BA7B-4B74-92CF-79DC348380AA.jpeg

3B99B696-9128-42F9-8AE3-909C7F3F84A2.jpeg

Almost definitely the eyepiece is from a spotting telescope (ie for bird watching etc) There is an Acuter model that has the same zoom range, and is specified as 8-24mm focal length range.

In astronomy our eyepieces are rarely marked as a magnification, since as Franklin says, that depends on the focal length of the telescope they are used in, which varies.

If it really is a 8-24mm zoom then at its highest power is should have been reasonable on Jupiter. Perhaps your expectations are too great (been looking at too many photographic images?) Your should see bands at least. How about on Saturn and Mars?

Being a Dobsonian you will need to ensure it is collimated well.

• Like 1

Hi Mark, welcome to SGL! 

You're definitely in the right place to start you astronomy journey - lots of sound advice to be found here 🙂