SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help please

Hi I am new to this and a friend put me onto this site. My grandson wants a telescope for Christmas and I haven't got a clue I want him to be able to see moon and planets so want a decent one so he dont get board quick but not to dear I have had a look on amazon can anyone help me please. I don't mind spending about 70 to start with  thankyou in advance

Edited by Polly1982

I wouldn't suggest that a beginner should buy a telescope from there. So many of their offerings are pretty useless.

Firstly, do some research. Have a look at First Light Optics' page "Beginners' Telescopes Guide":

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes.html

It's going to be difficult to find anything worth recommending at a £70 budget but if you see something you fancy, you could always try the bay of e and see if there's a second-hand one for sale. I bought my daughter a Skywatcher 100p, which is a fabulous little scope but rather outside your budget. Similarly, a Skywatcher Mercury (has the advantage of looking more 'telescopy' for a child) isn't at all bad.

If you do find something you like and want opinions, please don't hesitate to get back on here and ask.

• Thanks 1

Well welcome to the world of astronmy.  I am just going to say it up front.  70 bucks is a pretty restrictve budget.  Here in the States it takes at least 80 to get started with something new and even then those won't be all that and a big bag of chips.  So you are probably in the used category unless FLO has something in that price range.  At any rate welcome to the group ask questions and you never know someone may have just what you are looking for laying around not being used 

Edited by Mike Q