NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Parallel linkage roof?

900SL

As a structural engineer, I'm interested in home observatory designs and likely to build my own next year. Has anybody used a parallel linkage roof before?

The design effectively lifts the roof up as it opens. The force required depends on the geometry but is around half the roof weight. It could be opened by hand or screw jack. With appropriate stops and cleats it can deal with wind loads without issue, and weathering details are straightforward

Any examples out there? IMG_20221007_142352.thumb.jpg.f1fdf09a972f3dc4caeef8f6440e13b7.jpg

Mine is a slight nod in the direction of your design.....

https://www.flickr.com/photos/113316085@N05/albums/72157663274320360

https://www.davidbanksastro.com/micro-observatory

When I was planning it I avoided a flat roof as I could imagine issues with weather sealing - ponding water that could end up in the observatory when the two halves are parted to open up. Also snow loading issues - we are in the Scottish Highlands - it may not be an issue where you are 😉  We often get winds of >100mph and whilst I add storm straps when storms are forecast they have never been required to do anything - yet!

The only downside I have thought of is that in its current format it would be difficult to motorise it if I wanted to.

24 minutes ago, Skipper Billy said:

Mine is a slight nod in the direction of your design.....

https://www.flickr.com/photos/113316085@N05/albums/72157663274320360

https://www.davidbanksastro.com/micro-observatory