Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Barlow with an astrocamera?

900SL

I'm toying with the idea of using a Barlow with an image train for Lunar (or even experimenting with Solar) as follows:

GT71 with a 1x field flattener only (but see below), 2x Barlow, appropriate filter and a 533MC pro

My simple understanding (as I'm new to Barlows) is that this will double the focal length to 820mm (subject to position), decrease the aperture to F12 and drop the image scale to around 1'/px, which is presumably below the resolution limit of the GT71.

I have a few questions before I send any money to Flo as follows:

1: Can I use the GT71 without a field flattener given that the Barlow will double the size of the image circle and I will only be imaging the center of the field with the 11mm 533 sensor? Or am I likely to see a lot of field curvature to the edges? 

2: the GT71 has a 2" eyepiece adaptor behind the focuser so I assume a 2" Barlow can be mounted here and the position adjusted?

3: My 533MC came with a  1.25" adaptor and I have a bunch of M48/M42 adaptors and spacers, I'm not sure what is the best way to mount the 533MC to the Barlow and whether I need to consider backfocus

4: I have a 178MM incoming if FLO ever get round to shipping my order :)  (waiting on a Neumann tilt adjuster) and would this be worth using for lunar at 2x2 binning with appropriate filter?

Or am I wasting my time :)

Thanks in advance for any consideration

1) That is preferred way of using a barlow on a scope. You don't need field flattener as central part of the field is usually quite flat. It is the corners that have issues.

Barlow magnifies the image and you end up with only small portion of central field on the sensor with it - so there is really no need for flattener as that part is really flat.

2) 2" barlow is probably overkill for 99% of use cases - just use normal 1.25" barlow.