Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M31 What's causing this gradient? Full Moon?

JCIdaho

Hi all,

I snapped this pic of M31, 10 x 5 min subs using an asi2600mc-pro on an SM90, with a flattener/reducer. I'm a relative beginner... one thing I'd love to know, is what's causing the light gradient here, i.e. the image is 10% brighter on the left than the right.

What typically causes this? Could it be the moon light creeping in (pretty much a full moon), or a tilt on my sensor, or something else? I was at a bortle 4 site, so I don't think there was much light pollution at play. This isn't the first time I've seen such a gradient, but then at other times I've had images with zero gradient like this, so it's bit of a puzzle, something that shows up for time to time. It could be also be my flats setup, for which I used an ipad + flashlight-app + white t-shirt + elastic band. It could also be something up with the camera (amp glow?).

Or am I just overthinking this, and that a full-moon is always going to give a proper challenge?

masterLight_BIN-1_6248x4176_EXPOSURE-300.00s_FILTER-NoFilter_RGB_LN_Reference_hist.thumb.jpg.8935d1843e4a741a10b37ea8a86b2f3e.jpg

If I do a dynamic background extraction, I can make the above image significantly better:

masterLight_BIN_1_6248x4176_EXPOSURE_300_00s_FILTER_NoFilter_RGB_integration_DBE.thumb.jpg.7f9239aa9c6fcb1742df1eef70d3d64b.jpg

Any thoughts welcome!

Thanks.

• Like 1

Probably the Moon I would think. What date and time was this?

RC Astro GradientXterminator gave me this with one click, but it's not free, or you could try Graexpert for free. 
(https://github.com/Steffenhir/GraXpert/releases/tag/v0.1.3)

image.png.43d165600a3c0f220fb313d926d6f958.png

My effort with that in PS

M31-1GP.png.01d2fbbe8704d482498011eebe363b33.png

Edited by Laurieast
Replaced colour image