Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron Ultima LX

bosun21

I have just recently come across these eyepieces from Celestron. I have previously heard about the Ultima edge and the Ultima duo, but not the LX. Has anyone got any experience or knowledge of this particular range of eyepieces. Thanks 

They're an older line from 10 to 15 years ago.  They're optically the same as the Omegon Redline SW, Astro Tech AF70, Olivon 70°, SkyWatcher SWA 70°, and several other brandings.  The 22mm is excellent, the 17mm is pretty decent, the 13mm has loads of edge chromatic aberration and EOFB, and I have no personal experience with the shorter focal lengths.  The 32mm is reportedly an Erfle or Konig, and as such, nothing special correction-wise.  They have plenty of eye relief for eyeglass wearers once you screw off the rigid eye cup.  With its 43mm thread up top, you can fit it with a Baader Morpheus eye cup if you like.

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, Louis D said:

They're an older line from 10 to 15 years ago.  They're optically the same as the Omegon Redline SW, Astro Tech AF70, Olivon 70°, SkyWatcher SWA 70°, and several other brandings.  The 22mm is excellent, the 17mm is pretty decent, the 13mm has loads of edge chromatic aberration and EOFB, and I have no personal experience with the shorter focal lengths.  The 32mm is reportedly an Erfle or Konig, and as such, nothing special correction-wise.  They have plenty of eye relief for eyeglass wearers once you screw off the rigid eye cup.  With its 43mm thread up top, you can fit it with a Baader Morpheus eye cup if you like.

Thanks for the heads up. It was just the first time I had come across them and was curious.

I think Louis summed them up pretty well..

I owned the 13, 17 and 22mm and the 22mm was definitely the best, and the 13mm the least good.

Not bad eyepieces, but the Axiom LX (not Luminos) are much better all round, and with an 82deg fov..big eyepieces, all of them.

Dave

Just now, F15Rules said: