Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New Person Needing Some Help!

Hello Everyone

As I'm new to astronomy AND my new telescope I was wondering if you could help with explaining a few things and giving some advice!

I apologise if this is basic stuff but i'm really just starting and don't know very much at all.

I'm really not sure what I'm doing with the eyepieces/lenses. I got 2 with my telescope 25mm and 10mm and a x2 deluxe Barlow lens (whatever that is??) Can someone explain what the different magnifications are, which is higher which is lower, and which ones are best for viewing what? Plus what a Barlow Lens is?

My telescope is a Skywatcher Skymax 127 Supatrak.

Thanks for your help I appreciate it!

Hi Button Moon, I am a newbie aswell but have found a couple of things out by using my scope and also by asking. Here goes, I have found out that the lower number on the eyepiece means higher magnification, and that if you put the Barlow in first then the eyepiece it will double your magification. On my first night I used the 10mm to look at the moon and it was too close so I put in the 25mm and it was great, but the 25mm is great for the stars etc. Maybe what I am saying is pants but it is what I seem to have experienced, I am going to keep an eye on this post to get some advice myself. Hope I have helped a little. Regards Delilahtwinkle (Dt)

Yep thats about right

Start with the 25mm on its own it will give you the widest FOV and lowest mag, then put the 25mm in the x2 barlow to give you an effective 12.5mm EP then change to the 10mm on its own and finally to the 10mm with the x2 to give you an effective 5mm EP.

Short focal Lents require clear stable skies you'll often get a better view at lower magnification.

Why am I talking about EP's ... i might start using them if I am not careful... :)

Button

Exactly what you've been told previously!