Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

oacapture not finding Nikon Camera

Hi

I'm trying to get my Nikon D3300 to connect to oacapture on my Raspberry Pi. I'm using the same cable as per usual connectivity for downloading images to my PC etc but its just not being found.

A simple Creative webcam is found ok but not the Nikon so think i may be missing a step.

Has anyone come across this before.

Thanks

I’m not sure that DSLR’s use the same drivers in oaCapture which is based around V4L rather than gphoto that the indi DSLR drivers use. 

You may be able to get it to work, but I couldn’t get a canon DSLR working when it was fine in Ekos…

i'll be honest i'm totally new to Astroberry so feeling my way around the various software very slowly.

21 minutes ago, Elp said:

Have you loaded the camera driver on startup via the equipment profile? I assume you're running astroberry?

How do you do this please?

On the left hand side there should be a floating tab with around 6-7 buttons on it going vertically down the side of the panel. One of them opens a profile wizard, you have to create a new profile and select all the attached equipment you have (mount, cameras etc). There's a checkbox if I remember correctly to say automatically start on startup. Once it's started, all the drivers should be loaded and your equipment should work. Remember when you're finished making the profile to press the save button (disk image), otherwise it won't save and you have to do the process again.

11 minutes ago, catburglar said:

I’m not sure that DSLR’s use the same drivers in oaCapture which is based around V4L rather than gphoto that the indi DSLR drivers use. 

You may be able to get it to work, but I couldn’t get a canon DSLR working when it was fine in Ekos…

Ekos picked my Nikon up first time, thanks for the prompt. No idea how to use the software atm but at least its connected now

Thanks again

16 minutes ago, Elp said: