Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to DSO imaging - DSS help please.

I'm just starting out on what I suspect may be a long road of learning DSO Imaging. I've got a new toy (Canon 1000D) and I'm trying to learn how to use DeepSky Stacker (DSS). After some initial problems I seem to have grasped the basic operations of loading darks, flats, lights etc.

I am however stuck on two issues (1) Comet stacking and (2) RAW images.

(1) I've got some captures of Comet Lulin (20 x 30 sec and 20 x 60 sec with associated darks). I've read through the DSS help file and it talks about having to go into each light frame and centering the alignment point on the centre of the comet. Thus brings me to the problems.

a) How do I center the comet's centre? I can get it close with the mouse, but with no keyboard controls I can't centre the cursor exactly over the comet's centre.

:lol: How do I select this position as the alignment point?

2) RAW images. I've worked how to load them in and have used the option on the list marked Use Bayer drizzle algorithmn' in the RAW DPP settings options. Alignment and stacking goes okay, where is the nebulosity. Compared to JPEG files I took at the same time, there is very little blue nebulosity around the stars. I'm presuming I've simply missed out a step or two that will miraculously bring back this buried image data. What am I doing wrong/missing?

Hi Michael,

With the comet stacking , if the exposure is too long and the comets core has "trailed" then it doesn't allow you to select it as the "core" ... found this to my cost with the 3 hours of data from the other night... but at least I got a half tidy movie out of it....

I had thought of "cheating" and adding a "star" to the center of the core in each sub using CS then removing it in the post processing of the stacked image

Billy...

Hi Michael

I myself am new to DSLR imaging and can understand the learnng curve with seems very steep at times