NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is this as good as I can expect with my current setup?

Hi,

As an absolute beginner to astrophotography I have been capturing images to practice my image processing. I recently bought Affinity Photo and produced the image of the Pleiades below. 

I took 100 light frames at 2 second exposures, 30 dark frames and 30 bias frames. The frames were taken with a Canon EOS 70D fitted with a Samyang 135mm f2.0, on a static tripod (no tracking or guiding). I used ISO 1600 from a Bortle 7 location.

The frames were stacked and processed in Affinity Photo (curves and levels adjustments only).

Given the small amount of integration time do you think this is as good an image as I can get? I was surprised that I managed to pick up the hint of some nebulosity around the main stars. 

I've just acquired a SW EQM35 GOTO mount which will help with longer exposures, but still waiting for some clear nights so I can get out and practice setting it up. 

I've got so much to learn with capturing and processing images! 

Thanks for reading.

Steve 

Final image + cal frames.png

• Like 1

For a total of 3 minutes and 20 seconds, I think you've done alright. You're starting to see the nebulosity around the main stars and this will only increase with more integration time. 

It looks like the focus maybe slightly out, I got a Bahtinov Mask for my Samyang 135mm F2 and it makes life so much easier. ;) 

When you get your new mount you should be able to get exposures of up to 2 minutes, but start off with something like 30 seconds and slowly increase until you start to see elongated stars and then back off the exposure until they are round stars again. Polar Alignment is important to good tracking, so check out some YouTube videos on how to do this if you're not familiar with it.

• Like 1