Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best starter mount

Hi, I'm relatively new to astronomy.  I've got several scopes which  all could use a better mount.  Doing visual now but would like to branch out to astro.  If i had my druthers id get a goto, but that seems like cheating.  The explore scientific 114mm on German mount looks promising for visual.  Would it be difficult to get components to upgrade this mount for astro (i.e. drive system).  And is explore scientific gso or better?

IMO, the main advantage of GOTO mounts for AP is not the ability to select a target and point at it, but the capability of moving at sidereal rate (what you need to avoid star trails in long exposures). 

Being sturdy is another feature I would look for in a AP mount. 

It is said that NEQ-5 class is enough for entry level AP.

Hello,

it might help if you listed your existing scopes, if the aim is to find a mount to handle all of them.

The general advice is not to mix up visual and imaging as they have different requirements, though of course you could get a mount that would support your visual work and still be good enough for imaging. An imaging mount needs to be equatorial, certainly if you want to do deep sky, whereas for visual only, many people find an alt-az simpler to use.

I have no experience of ES mounts, but it looks like that 114mm is sold on an EQ3-equivalent mount. You could motorize the RA axis and that would be fine for tracking in visual work, but it wouldn't get you very far with imaging. As pointed out above, the minimum recommendation for that is usually one of the better EQ5 class mounts.

A mount is probably the most important piece of kit you'll need for astrophotography. Without a stable mount which tracks well, you will always have problems so go for the best mount you can afford and you may be able to get something on the second hand market which is more affordable.