Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Evostar 90/660 AZ Pronto

wibblefish

Skywatcher Evostar 90/660 AZ Pronto

Introduction:

I purchased this telescope in Nov 2020 after a pandemic desire for a new hobby got me interested in Astronomy. I had looked at the Starquest 102mc but that was not available at the time so I settled on the Evostar primarily as it was available. It was a little bit of a punt since the only reviews for it covered the longer 90/1000 version of the telescope.

As I have now upgraded to a new refractor and I’ve seen this mentioned a few times recently in the beginners section I thought I would write a quick review. Though a note of caution I am still a beginner so it is just with mu novice perceptions please read up more or ask questions of more experienced members if you are considering telescope purchases to make sure they are right for what you want!

Package / Contents:

The telescope is fairly well packed and is relatively light even boxed.

There isn’t much in the way of guidance for putting it together but it is fairly intuitive even for a novice like myself.

Package contents:

Aluminium tripod

Tray for tripod

OTA

Red dot finder

AZ Pronto mount head

Slow-mo cables

25mm eyepiece

10mm eyepiece

1.25” mirror diagonal

The tripod is sturdy enough but you can improve its rigidity further by using the provided tray to support the tripod spreader and ensuring you tighten all the screws / bolts.

Later when I got heavy eyepeices the telescope was able to be rebalanced easily due to it being in tube rings which was an advantage. I also ended up improving the tripod stability and prevent overbalance somewhat by adding ankle weights above the tray on the legs but that is not needed unless you add heavier eyepieces like I did.

Telescope Impressions: