Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ZWO ASI 120mc PHD2 issues/solution(?)

Alexp

Hi everyone,

long time lurker here, but now I thought I'd mention something here. I have not had the time to use my telescope setup in years but I am finally taking the time to catch up again on everything. Currently I am using a Celestron AVX with a SW 150/750pds and a 9x50mm finderscope with the old (untrusted it seems) ASI 120mc as guide cam. I am connecting my entire setup to a Lenovo Legion laptop with Windows 10.

I am writing this here since I have encountered an issue with PHD2 and my ASI120mc and I have found some odd solution from other threads to another product here and over at cloudynights. I am quite new to all these problems and problem solving so please excuse me using a lot of laments terms as my knowledge is very limited here. 

Anyway, my guide cam always keeps losing connection when trying to use it in sessions and I kept receiving a message from PHD2 something like "An image has not been acquired after XX seconds so the camera has been disconnected". Sometimes it was working for a little while, but PHD2 kept "lagging" resulting in very poor guiding, but ultimately the connection to the guide cam was always lost. 

I have found a few topics on this in forums, most often suggesting turning off automatic USB power management to the USB ports (did that), disabling C states in BIOS (not an option in my BIOS), updating firmwares and softwares of all the relevant programs and cameras (did that), getting a powered USB hub (have that), switching to 8bit mode in PHD2 (did that), using USB 2.0 instead of 3.0 (did that), etc. etc., or simply giving up and getting a new guiding camera. Except for the last "solution" I have tried out everything I could but nothing has worked.