NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My first blinking and a few other nebulas

Kon

The skies were predicted clear last night and I thought to have a final push for some nebulas before we lose the astro darkness. As a beginner I wanted to see M27 (Dumbbell). It was still low at my NE-E horizon at 1040pm so I started with M57 the is now becoming an old favourite. Easy to spot with my 25mm EP and it took the zoom of the 8mm EP. I could easily make the ring structure with the bright outside and more faint inside. I managed to spot the mag13 star next to it and I could also see quite a few of the mag14 stars around it with averted vision; no sign of the central star.  I told myself to try sketch it since I had plenty of time for things to come into view. Being unprepared I tried to do a quick sketch but using a small green light (I said unprepared so no red light) it completely ruined my night vision. I felt it was hopeless and i just enjoyed the visual aspect. I then moved to NGC 6826 a blinking planetary nebula. I was using my 25mm EP and i got in the area. With direct vision I could not see anything butI had read that with averted vision it should be obvious, and indeed it was there; thus the term blinking nebula. I felt silly and start talking to myself 'now you see me now you do not'. I quite enjoyed this. Popping in my 8mm the nebula was visible with direct vision and not blinking any longer. At that point some high haze came in and I thought to have a look at Veil since it was getting higher in the sky; with the OIII filter it was there but it was not as impressive as in my last report. It will have to wait until later in the summer. At this point M27 should be obvious; I moved in the area and I could see a nice nebula with two dense poles and fainter edges; i had the OIII filter still on and i think it gave it a nice contrast. Upon removing it more of the nebula was apparent (larger size) but less features. I quite liked how the filter brough