Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Spectrometer

Greetings Readers,

I have no experience in the field of stellar spectrometry however I am undertaking some research that necessitates the measurement of the spectra of various light sources, stars etc.

Please tell me about commonly used spectrometers  in the field of amateur astronomy their availability and cost. My budget is modest so professional level instruments are out of the question.

Many thanks in advance,

Jeremy.

Thank you Andrew.

That's a start for me.

What I would like to  do is obtain the spectrum of the light of a star and/or the light of diffuse source (scattered light) and record this spectrum (amplitude vs. wavelength) for analysis etc.

Jeremy.

49 minutes ago, JRWASTRO said:

Thank you Andrew.

That's a start for me.

What I would like to  do is obtain the spectrum of the light of a star and/or the light of diffuse source (scattered light) and record this spectrum (amplitude vs. wavelength) for analysis etc.

Jeremy.

What resolution are you looking for?  If you want to do diffuse object you will need a slit or fiber spectrograph.  How bright are the objects, size if telescope? 

Regards Andrew 

Here are 3 pictures, of our southern skies at Sandy Creek, taken the other night.  I need to look at the spectra between  the horizon and at zenith.

What I am looking for is a spectrum analyser with about 10 bands in the visual  each band about 35nm( (750-400)/10) wide . I imagine this resolution will will help to determine a characteristic signature. I will be taking photometric measurements in the John-Cousins R, V, and B bands.

Jeremy

east_2554_web.jpg

south_2553_web.jpg

wes_2552t_web.jpg

Edited by JRWASTRO
Provide more information.