Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece Recommendation

now

Hi All 

I have just bought the Altair Astro Starwave 152 V3 achro refractor and I am looking for some recommendations on which make and type of eyepieces would work best with this telescope, to give me the best wide field views , DSO and if I wanted to push it on the planets.

Also I am new to this and don’t think I would be able to use ultra wide angle eyepieces . I wouldn’t like to just dive in and buy the wrong eyepiece because I’ve read the literature and it seems like what I am looking for . Your experience would be greatly appreciated. Also would I be better going to 2”eyepieces.

thanks Robert 

• Like 1

Since you're operating at ~f/6, you'll need eyepieces that do well in moderately fast telescopes.  If your budget is tight, I would start with the 12mm, 8mm, and 5mm BST Starguiders.  If you only have a 1.25" diagonal, get a 32mm Plossl for lowest power viewing.  If you have a 2" diagonal, I'd recommend the 35mm Aero ED SWA for widest field viewing.  You might want to add something around 17mm to 22mm in the future, but I tend to skip past that power in scopes near this focal length (900mm).

If violet fringing bugs you, you might want to look into a minus violet filter of some sort.  The Baader Contrast Booster seems to be well regarded in this capacity.  Here's a comparison of the effect various filters have on the view through an achromat:

spacer.png

Edited by Louis D
  • Like 3

Thanks for your advice Louis D 

If I could stretch my budget a bit on the 2” eyepiece to £150/£200, would you still  recommend the Aero or is there any others you would recommend. I already have the 8mm and 25 mm bst .

thanks Robert 

9 hours ago, Charlie 2436 said:

Thanks for your advice Louis D 

If I could stretch my budget a bit on the 2” eyepiece to £150/£200, would you still  recommend the Aero or is there any others you would recommend. I already have the 8mm and 25 mm bst .