Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What lenses should I get for edge HD 8

It comes with a 40mm but.you know. What should I get and 1.25 or 2 in for this scope.  I'm a rookie here.  I was buying a 14mm 82 degree e s piece for the nexstar 8se. But it came with a couple extra eyepieces too. And then the filters....ugh

Some people fit  low power 2" eyepieces on these scopes, but if it does not come with 2" adaptors, you would need a 2" visual back, 2" diagonal and 2" eyepiece.  Add up the cost of these and you might think that your money was better spent on a separate widefield scope. 1.25" eyepieces are cheaper.

Eyepieces - AFAIK same as for a C8, I use a 25mm, 15mm 8mm and a 8-24mm zoom.  At f10 eyepiece choice should not be critical, so buy whatever is in your comfort zone.

Filters - don't buy unless you find a need for a narrowband filter like an OIII, or suchlike.

I have found the Celestron X-Cel eyepieces work quite well with the 8SE (almost the same thing as C8), no need to spend a lot on high quality eyepieces for an f10 scope. 

If the C8 has the 2" back the same as the 8SE and you have the money to spend, then a 2" visual back / 2" dual-speed focuser and 2" diagonal should transform your C8 into a much more dynamic instrument, enabling you to quickly switch between normal 1.25" eyepieces and 2".  I have a very nice PanaView 38mm eyepiece which is simply fantastic for the Orion Nebula and star clusters, although that's probably the only 2" eyepiece I use with my 8SE (I only own two 2" eyepieces at present).

My refractor is also 2" at the back so I use the diagonal and eyepieces with that too, I look at those accessories as investments rather than an expense.  Consider if you are ever likely to be able to afford or own another telescope that might use 2" accessories.