NGC4565 Needle Galaxy

don4l

This is my first attempt at using techniques that I have picked up here at SGL.  It is also my first LRGB where I feel that I've managed to overcome the dreadful light pollution.  I had more or less retired to almost exclusive use of Narrowband imaging.

Any comments or advice would be very welcome.  I should say that I have severe doubts about the brightness and contrast of my laptop screen, so I would very much appreciate comments on those!  The stars also look green to me, but adjusting the green channel doesn't seem to fix the problem.

Equipment:  FSQ105ED with Extender Q,   STL6303, EQ6 pro.

L = 210m, R = 27m, G = 123m, B = 75m

Calibrated in CCDStack, processed with the Gimp.

In the past I have really struggled with light pollution in the green data, so I ended up taking far more than I needed.  It wasn't as bad as I expected - I suspect that the street lights have been changed since 2010 when I last tried LRGB.

Pencibl.jpg

4 hours ago, Demonperformer said:

Very nice. I do like seeing galaxies "in context". Several small ones there as well.

Thank you.

Could I ask how it looks on your screen?

I process the images  on a laptop, and it looks fine there.  On my work PC, the background looks pitch black, and the galaxy looks a deep reddish-brown.  I have no idea if either PC is showing it the way most people are seeing it.

The galaxy is probably redder than I would have done it.

Not sure if it will help a lot, but I've attached a crop of the screenprint with the pixel colour values that I get for an average (if there is such a thing) pixel in the galaxy itself. If you load up a drawing prog and create an image to match those values, it may give you some idea of how the colour compares with what you were expecting?

Image1.png

9 hours ago, Demonperformer said:

The galaxy is probably redder than I would have done it.