NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help - advice

hi guys

I have been exploring with binoculars and the naked eye for a few months, and occaisionally with a meade ds-90, but feel I am ready to upgrade to explore further.

I've been looking around and quite fancy either a meade etx125pe, or a celestron nextar 6se.

I got a budget of around £700, but have no idea what to get. I like the idea of goto and will want to take some photos eventually.

Anyone got any ideas or advice?

I apologise if there is a similar thread somewhere on here, but i haven't found any!

thanks

matt :scratch:

Out of the two you have outlined I would go for the Celestron NexStar 6SE, I had the NexStar 4SE and was very impressed with it considering it was only a 4" maksutov, the 6SE is a Schmidt however so you will get a little larger field of view which combined with the larger aperture of just over 6 inches then you should get very good views of DSO's. The good thing about the Celestron NexStar range is the coatings they apply to the mirrors, they give excellent contrast for planetary and lunar viewing.

I would comment that the 6SE would be rather good for imaging but you may wnat to invest in a 'wedge' as I don't think the 6SE and 8SE models come with one. The NexStar range does however have an autoguider port so if you can find a wedge (think celestron do one for <£200, but not too sure) then the autoguiding should come in very handy for imaging. you should be able to image some of the brighter DSO's such as M42,45,31,13,92,44,27 etc.

I don't have any experience with the Meade equipment so can't really comment on that. Have a good think abou what you need tho, I bought the 4SE in haste and therefore sold it on because it wasn't what I was after....the 6SE might be a lot better in some ways.

Ed.

The ETX will be OK for imaging the moon and brighter planets with a webcam

Yes, certainly

or short exposures with a DSLR