Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How do I work out what exposure I'm getting?

I am just getting started with image processing and need a little advice. I have an ASI183mc pro (one shot colour, cooled). Capturing with SGPro and processing with Pix in Sight. What I'm not sure about is how to work out either in Pix or SGPro what level of exposure I am getting and there for how long my subs need to be. How do I check if I'm over exposing stars or galaxy centers, and how much exposure is a good guide to work from?
Regards
Stewart

Hi Stewart,

You can check for over exposure in SGP by looking at the unstretched preview image after it's been downloaded. Any over exposed (clipped) stars or galaxy centres will show up as white dots or blobs. You can also hover the mouse over the preview image in any unstretched/stretched preview image to get a 16 bit ADU readout of the pixel under the mouse. Any ADU reading over 65500 or so is clipped. It should be 65520 for a 12 bit camera though my ASI1600 clips at 65504. Bright stars will always get clipped if you're aiming to expose for galaxies or other DSOs so don't worry too much about them.

You might assume it's optimum to expose long enough so your target is bright enough but not clipped. But it depends on how much light pollution you have which affects your sky background level. Once you have exposed long enough so that the ADU of the sky background level has sufficiently swamped the read noise from the camera then any further exposure gains you no real benefit. It's best to take many short exposures which are exposed to the 'optimum' sky background rather than a less number of longer exposures. This applies to CMOS cameras mainly which have a low read noise. For CCD longer exposures are recommended as the read noise is higher and being 16 bit have a higher dynamic range so clipping is less of an issue.