Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Photography Query

pjbhc

Hi all, 

I have a feeling this question might not be in the right place, so as a newbie I apologise.

I have the chance to accquire a Meade Polaris 114EQ from a friend for a small fee.

Would this telescope along with a Nikon D3300 DSLR camera be adequate for basic photography of the moon (to get me started) and to satisfy my aviation fix, capture planes which are transiting overhead anywhere from 28,000 to 36,000ft?

All advice welcome but it may lead to more questions so beware! Thanks

Hm, short answer: probably not.

While such scope is capable of both types of photography that you mentioned - this particular model has a few drawbacks that will make it very difficult to use it like that.

First is focuser - it is simple 1.25" unit - fitting Nikon D3300 to it will be a tough job.

You will need suitable adapter to attempt to put it in prime focus - Nikon T2 adapter + T2 to 1.25" nose piece. There will be vignetting in this setup (but it might not matter for the Moon - you can probably crop it out). Then there is a matter of reaching the focus like already mentioned. Other option is to try to do eyepiece projection or afocal method. First needs suitable eyepiece / adapter + again Nikon T2 adapter for camera. Second one needs eyepiece + special adapter to hold camera. You will probably reach focus with Afocal method.

Difference between these methods is:

- prime focus - telescope is the lens, so setup is like this: telescope - camera sensor

- eyepiece projection - telescope + eyepiece is lens, setup: telescope - eyepiece - camera sensor