NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Framing Target,Atik 314 mono and APT

Craig123

Hi eveyone

I am pretty new to imaging with a ccd but enjoying the challenges.The main stumbling block for me at the moment  is framing an object the same way as a previous session.I tried to get some ha on M101 but spent ages trying to get the camera to line up with a previous  image on my desktop.As my reducer and Atik 314 l+ is screwed on to the focusing tube i found it diffiicult trying to twist the camera round with leads hanging down,worrying it was all going to come off in the dark  and often the power was lost to camera (i think a new lead required too) meaning i had to re load Armetis over again.Some folks have mentioned Astro photography tool and astro tortilla which i have downloaded but not used yet as a means of plate solving but after it has centred target  i would still then have to start twisting camera around to frame it as before or am i missing something?...does the software do it all ?? It was a frustrating night for sure (the next night i tried the flaming star from a fresh and all seemed good again without having to align ) so for now its this one aspect making it particularly tricky at the moment, any ideas please on framing, software and physical attachment of reducer , filter and camera for ease of use much appreciated.

Thanks

Craig

Sounds like APT would benefit you https://www.ideiki.com/astro/ If you put the camera into focuser the same way, maybe line with two marks ,Apt can save the setting for a target once you have lined it up using platesolving it has a store button ,so next time you go out hit same target it goes to same coordinates, have a look on APT forum loads of info on there . http://aptforum.com/phpbb/index.php