Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Thoughts on the recent eclipse

Subdeo

I wrote this after the eclipse and thought I would share it. It's not much (I'm not a professional) but some people might enjoy it. :)

"I firmly believe that the solar eclipse of Aug 21st 2017 was the most stunning phenomenon and most beautiful thing I have ever seen. A solar eclipse must be the most incredible and overwhelming event that God ever ordained in the heavens. However, adjectives like these really do the reader no good to actually know what the eclipse was like. I will try to explain my experience of the eclipse in detail.

We had driven from our house up through Wyoming then into South Dakota on Saturday. We spent Sunday visiting Mount Rushmore and seeing Crazy Horse from the road. We spent some time at a lake near Mt. Rushmore, and then spent the rest of the evening at our camp. However, the main event was the eclipse on Monday.

The morning of the eclipse, we got up at about 4:15am. The night before, we had packed up just about everything, so there was little to do in the morning. All around us, various lights could be seen from other camps that were also packing up. It was a small campground, and the approximately four lights probably accounted for half the campground’s current population in our area. I was excited as we pulled out and got on the highway. I wanted to go faster, and arrive as quickly as possible and beat the traffic that was sure to try to bar our way. Very few cars were going north, almost all went south. In Lusk, WY the traffic was worst. We saw a gas station with very long lines for gas. We finally got out of Lusk and onto the final stretch of 85 that would take us to our location.