Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M27

Hi guys.

I thought I would share my Saturday night result of M27, The Dumbbell Nebula.

40x300" lights with 30 flats and 30 bias. I was hoping to do 600" but APT was dropping the frames and that's why I chose to do 300 instead.

I'm pretty pleased with the new IDAS lp clip in filter as it's the first time I use it.

Some of the stars have some weird shapes but that might have been caused by the wind, I don't know.

Stacked in DSS and processed in PS and Lightroom on my computer and a litte bit in the Lightroom app on my phone.

Any coments would be really appreciate it.

Emil

LRM_EXPORT_20170821_152008.thumb.jpg.439b22e2be4c5e1549c40c47e473bec5.jpg

2 minutes ago, mikeDnight said:

To my visual observers eye - I'm no imaging expert - that is one of the most pleasing views of M27 I've seen in a long time. I simply can't fault it, its superb! :thumbsup:

Wow, thank you. I wasn't expecting that.

Emil

A very good result - you have processed the main nebula and the starfield very well.  This is much better than my first attempts at this difficult object, I think you should be very pleased with your result.

You've obviously got a good eye for detail, since I hadn't noticed your point about some of the stars until you highlighted this fact. Looking at these, I think this small effect might be caused by a very small amount of camera tilt rather than wind.  

Alan 

1 hour ago, alan4908 said:

camera tilt

About that, I bought an adapter for an all screw connection but in order to use it I would have to guide with my 9x50 finder-guider instead of the oag.  How bad could the flexure be? I got a couple of rings for the finder-guider too that I'm wanna fix on a vixen dovetail bar on top of the ota.

Would an all screw connection get rid of the camera tilt? I also aligned the focuser to the ota quite recently.

Emil