Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star sense and sky portal alignment problems

first off, I am a beginner! I have a celestron 127slt MAK with the star sense auto align and wifi module.I am having trouble using the sky portal app and star sense to align my scope.I have tried in both the auto and manual modes, but the scope seems to slew wildly independent of the slew controls on the app. I am forced to cancel the alignment or power down the scope. I am able to align the scope with the star sense hand controller.. I am assuming the problem is with the app, or am I doing something wrong?. My question is: if I align my scope with the star sense hand controller, can I then use the sky portal app for the go-to functions or do I still need to align the scope using the sky portal app? Any advice anyone can give will be appreciated!

No specific advice as I do not have either, from "aligning" and using software other then the handset it would make sense that the Starsense does the alignment all on its own.

Then at the end the Starsense will have completed successfully and be pointed at a star - last one it use for alignment seems sensible.

Then I would expect (not fully) that you have to select that star on/in the Sjy Portal app and tell the Sjy Portal app that that star is where it is pointed at, in effect you synchronise the app to the scope. It would make sense that that is how it would operate, but I can see that maybe you would not have to - all depends on how and where the movement to the next goto object is defined.

It depends if the app tells the scope the movement to make, or tells it where to go and the scope determines the movement reqiured. But I would say you have the sync the Sky Portal app to the scope. I know you do on the PC software packages I have met.

You should not need to repeat the align using the Sky Portal app as that makes no sense.